Hindi Diwas is celebrated in India to commemorate the date 14 September 1949 on which a consensus was reached—during the drafting of the Constitution of India—on the languages that were to have official status in the Republic of India. The consensus, usually called the Munshi-Ayyangar formula declared Hindi to be the “official language” of India’s federal government. This resolution came into effect on 26 January 1950. Hindi is reportedly the fourth most-spoken first language in the world. GD Goenka Public School, Rohini, Sector 9, observes Hindi Diwas with great pride.


error: Content is protected !!